Gatlinburg, TN.

Gatlinburg, TN isn’t so bad… Well, once you get out of it it isn’t so bad.

image

When you think about it Gatlinburg is pretty awesome. It’s surrounded by forest, the Appalachian Trail goes right through it, and apparently bears walk in the streets- I mean I just heard about that but to think you’re that close to nature that a bear would just walk right through the streets is sort of exciting- and scary but exciting nonetheless.

image

And I mean, I really did see a bear, but that was in Cades Cove, part of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.

Now Gatlinburg the town is kind of chintzy. It’s usually full of tourist and some say its “the Myrtle Beach of the mountains” and well, yes it is, but on a positive note you can seriously nab some deals of hiking/backpacking gear. Plus, Gatlinburg isn’t half as bad as Pigeon Forge. Don’t get me started on that place…

image

But once you roll into the forest and plant your eyes on the vast scenes of nature and the great, creative things God has created your eyes will roll back into your head and thank your brain for this beauty. I personally think Tennessee has some of the greatest views on the East Coast.

image

I guess when it comes to matters in life you have to get through the bad to make it to the good. Kind of like kissing a millions frogs until you get to the prince, or something like Cinderella slaving for her evil stepsisters but then becoming a princess, or even like Christ dying for our sins so that we can live. I guess what I’m saying is that there is the mess of Gatlinburg but once you get through that and into the forest you can start to breathe a little easier.

image

I don’t know if it was the mountain altitude or the fact that I made it through the weekend that made me think this through but I guess what I’m trying to say is go to Tennessee and breathe a little easier. Be like The Facts of Life… You take the good/you take the bad…

*All photo cred to Sheryll Smith. 

Leave a Reply

