Grayson Highlands, VA.

I was sitting on top of this little peak looking over the valley on a sunny afternoon last week in Virginia. The wind was blowing, making my hair dance around and the sun was smiling and all I could think of was that I was completely content.

image

(photo cred to Sheryll Smith)

There are moments in my life where I’m down right worried or anxious about the next day and I’m always thinking… But sometimes I get lucky and I flip a switch and I just don’t. Some call it an “aha” moment or being in the zone but for me I just get a feeling of complacency. Things aren’t mapped out and I’m okay with it.

image

The rock I climbed around on looked out onto the valley and we could see for miles. The bee’s were buzzing next to me, gathering reserves for the fall not too far away now, and I tilted my head towards the sun and just breathed for there was no where else I’d rather be. Thanking God for what was around me.

image

(photo cred to Sheryll Smith)

I had gone up to Grayson Highlands for the weekend to explore and climb. I took a stab at a V0 route (or at least I think it was), saw some wild ponies and hiked to a few summits that took my breath away.

image

(photo cred to Sheryll Smith)

Later on in the day we hiked on up to Massie Gap and spotted the famous wild ponies in Wildburn Ridge and crossed onto the Appalachian Trail. Along the trail were wild blueberries and blackberries. We walked on into the sunset staining our finger tips blue.

image

image

By the end of the trip my mind drew a blank on what I was so worried about before heading up the hills. Monday morning I went back into work refreshed and happy. I know I fret a lot about my future and my life with where it is at but when it comes to focusing on the here and now there is no better place to look than to the mountains.

Leave a Reply

