An eye opening weekend.

I’m really thankful for the friends I’ve got, the people I’ve met, re- met, never thought I’d meet and heck, even the exhaustion I feel right now. This weekend I went to Atlanta to go bridesmaid dress shopping. My best friend is getting married and I’m the maid of honor. We shopped around for a while and found the dress- one less thing marked off the list, whoo! We went to Due South afterwards and I would say it’s one of the best places to eat that has southern cuisine. I had a fried chicken sandwich with pimento cheese and sweet potato fries. I don’t know how I made it through the rest of the afternoon with out falling asleep.

IMG_1150

Afterwards it was time to move to Lennox mall. We did our usual perusing and ended up walking out with our eyes full of pretty things and our hands empty… That is until I saw a familiar face from the show called Community.  Okay everyone, it was Donald Glover a.k.a Childish Gambino. I didn’t know it was him until it really dawned on me.  Who knew he was from Georgia? I abruptly turned around nearly hitting my friends. We ran back and introduced ourselves. He was something of a dream and I was glad to have the courage to have met him.

The rest of the afternoon was filled with a very weird, very odd and unfathomable laser show at Stone Mountain. The view from the top of the mountain was spectacular and everyone should go see it if they have the chance but I wouldn’t make anyone watch the laser show-ever.

The next day was Cirque Du Soleil day. If anyone has been to a Cirque show knows what a great experience it is. The colors, the dancers, the energy emitting from the audience is all what sent me back to feeling like a kid again- all giddy and excited. Some how the performers twisted their torso’s, stretched, leaped and flew all with a smile on their faces and I was in awe. When the circus comes to town you must go!

This whole weekend made me see how fine my life is. How absolutely in love with life I am. Meeting someone famous and witnessing magic was enough to throw me back into the saddle. To find that whatever childlike aspirations I had in the past are not so immature and daunting as I thought. The stars you see on the TV screen aren’t far away. They’re not unfathomable dreams, or things to throw to the waste side.

Life is hard but it’s hard because if you want something and you work hard enough it’ll be worth it- you’ll know it’s all worth it and that you wanted it.

Leave a Reply

