To my friend James. I’ll miss you, bud.

If there was one thing I could remember of James I would say he was calm. He loved us and we loved him. He did my makeup for Beaux Arts then went on to work for The Walking Dead. How awesome is that? He was talented, hardworking and always there, always supportive, and will always be my friend.

After graduating from UNCSA together, James and I spoke here and there and caught up from time to time. I remember at my best friends wedding we rode from the reception to the “after after party” and what a gentleman he was. I just remember sitting in the hotel lobby and chatting. I don’t remember what we said, I don’t remember what hotel it was or even the color of his tie- I just remember his presence. His calm. His lack of judgement on anyone and the utter interest he had in what was around him, even if it was a tired bridesmaid with swollen feet.

He was smart. He was brave, and he understood. I hate to say was, because that just identifies someone to be in the past but what’s so great about remembering is that you can keep that person with you. You can pull them into the present and sit with them again with swollen feet in a hotel lobby at 1:00 in the morning.

29650086276_a8f2fdc033_o

Leave a Reply

